Question: Who knocked Australia out of the Rugby World Cup?

England have knocked out Australia a record four times, including in the 2003 final. France have been knocked out three times by both New Zealand and England, while the All Blacks have also eliminated Scotland three times.

What place did Australia come in the Rugby World Cup 2019?

By position

Rugby World Cup
Year Round PA
2011 Third Place 95
2015 Runners-up 118
2019 Quarter-finals 108

Who lost the Rugby World Cup?

Rugby World Cup winners

Year Winner Result for New Zealand
2003 England Lost to Australia in semi-final 22–10
2007 South Africa Lost to France in quarter-final 20–18
2011 New Zealand Defeated France 8–7
2015 New Zealand Defeated Australia 34–17

Who won the 2015 Rugby World Cup?

Since 1908 Australia and Wales have competed against each other in rugby union in 44 matches, Australia having won 30, Wales 13, with 1 draw.

How many times have France beaten New Zealand?

They have played two tournament finals, in 1987 and 2011 (both at Eden Park and both won by New Zealand). Overall, the All Blacks have won 48 Tests against France’s 12, with one match drawn.


INTERESTING:  What are 10 interesting facts about Australia?
Record France New Zealand
Longest winning streak 3 (26 Jun 1994–18 Nov 1995) 14 (20 Jun 2009–20 Nov 2021)
Most points for

Who is the most successful Rugby World Cup team?

New Zealand and South Africa are the most successful teams in the history of the tournament, with three wins each. New Zealand is the only team to have won consecutive tournaments, with their victories in the 2011 and 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Who has won the most RWC?

Rugby World Cup

Current season or competition: 2023 Rugby World Cup
The Webb Ellis Cup is awarded to the winner of the men’s Rugby World Cup
Regions Worldwide (World Rugby)
Holders South Africa (2019)
Most titles New Zealand (3 titles) South Africa (3 titles)

Who won RWC 2016?

New Zealand held off a fierce Australian comeback to win a thrilling World Cup final and become the first team to retain their title. Wonderful tries from Nehe Milner-Skudder and Ma’a Nonu had given the All Blacks a 21-3 lead early in the second half before David Pocock and Tevita Kuridrani struck back.

Who won the Rugby World Cup 2014?

Australia beat England 33–13 at Twickenham Stadium in London.

Who won the 1999 Rugby World Cup?

The 1999 Rugby World Cup was the fourth Rugby World Cup, the quadrennial international rugby union championship. It was principally hosted by Wales, and was won by Australia. This was the first Rugby World Cup to be held in the sport’s professional era.

Who won the 2004 Rugby World Cup?

England won the Rugby World Cup with a breathtaking Jonny Wilkinson drop goal just 26 seconds from the end of a thrilling final in Sydney. Millions watched around the world as captain Martin Johnson became the first player to lead a northern hemisphere side to the world title.

INTERESTING:  Can you work in Australia without a visa?