Best answer: Which other flag is present on the flag of Australia?

The flag has three elements on a blue background: the Union Jack, the Commonwealth Star and the Southern Cross. The Union Jack in the upper left corner represents the history of British settlement. Below the Union Jack is a white Commonwealth, or Federation, star.

Which other country’s flag is part of Australia’s flag?

Other national flags bearing the Southern Cross include Papua New Guinea (diagonal red and black, upper fly yellow bird of paradise silouette on a red background, lower hoist white Southern cross with five 5-point stars on a black background) and Western Samoa (Southern Cross with 5 white 5-point stars on a blue …

Why is the British flag on the Australian flag?

The Union Flag is thought to symbolise Australia’s history as six British colonies and the principles upon which the Australian Federation is based, although a more historic view sees its inclusion in the design as demonstrating loyalty to the British Empire.

What are the 4 Australian flags?

Order of Precedence for Defence Ensigns

INTERESTING:  What is the highest waterfall in Australia?

Australian National Flag. Australian Defence Force ensign. Australian white ensign. Royal Australian Air Force ensign.

Is the New Zealand flag and Australian flag the same?

Why do New Zealand and Australia use a similar pattern of stars on their flags? Both Australia and New Zealand chose the Southern Cross constellation for their flags. The stars on the Australian Flag are white and have more points than the New Zealand Flag to show their brightness in the sky.

What are the 3 Australian flags?

Australia has three official flags: the Australian National Flag, the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag.

The Australian National Flag

  • The flag of Great Britain, known as the Union Jack, is in the top left corner. …
  • The Commonwealth Star is under the Union Jack.

What flag is Tuvalu?

The current flag of Tuvalu was instated when the country became independent in 1978, after the separation from the Gilbert and Ellice Islands in 1976.

Flag of Tuvalu
Adopted April 11, 1997
Design A Light Blue Ensign with the Map of the Island of nine yellow five-pointed stars on the fly half of the flag.

Why are there 7 stars on the Australian flag?

It has seven points representing the unity of the six states and the territories of the Commonwealth of Australia. The star is also featured on the Commonwealth Coat of Arms. … It is a constellation of five stars that can only be seen from the southern hemisphere and is a reminder of Australia’s geography.

Why are there 6 stars on the Australian flag?

The Stars. The Commonwealth Star is the emblem of Australian Federation. Six points represent the states and the seventh all the federal territories which together constitute the nation, the Commonwealth of Australia. The constellation of the Southern Cross indicates our geographical location in the southern hemisphere …

INTERESTING:  What does Sanga mean in Australia?

What is the capital of Australia?

Canberra, federal capital of the Commonwealth of Australia. It occupies part of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), in southeastern Australia, and is about 150 miles (240 km) southwest of Sydney.

What is the Eureka Stockade flag?

The Eureka Stockade Flag consists of a dark blue field with a central white symmetric cross consisting of five eight-pointed stars, representing the Crux constellation. The white cross behind the stars is Celtic. The design was first used in the Eureka Rebellion of 1854 at Ballarat in Victoria, Australia.

Why do protestors use red Australian flag?

The Australian navy flag, otherwise known as the red ensign is often seen at anti-government protests. … Historically associated with Australia’s commercial shipping vessels, the merchant navy, the flag has recently been adopted by people involved in anti-lockdown and anti-government movements.

What do the 5 stars represent Australia flag?

The five white stars of the fly of the flag represent the Southern Cross. The Southern Cross (or Crux) is the brightest constellation visible in the Southern Hemisphere and has been used to represent Australia and New Zealand since the early days of British settlement.

Is Australia changing their flag?

A dark blue, forward moving, kangaroo silhouetted against a golden sky has replaced the Union Jack and Federation Star featured on the current Australian Flag. … The white stars of the Southern Cross are reversed out of a blue field, which is unchanged from the current flag.

What is the Finland flag?

Mainland Australia is the world’s largest island but the smallest continent. The country is divided into six states and two territories.

INTERESTING:  Will Australia ever have nuclear power?