What is the suburb of Melbourne?

How many suburbs are in Melbourne?

There are 1025 suburbs in Greater Melbourne, some without postcodes, shared or names of railways stations.

What is the best suburb in Melbourne?

The Best Suburbs to Live in Melbourne in 2020

  • South Yarra.
  • St Kilda.
  • Carlton.
  • Brunswick.
  • Footscray.
  • Fitzroy.
  • Richmond.
  • South Melbourne.

What is Melbourne’s biggest suburb?

Reservoir is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 12 km north of Melbourne’s Central Business District. Its local government area is the City of Darebin. Reservoir is the largest suburb in Melbourne by land area.

Is Melbourne a state or suburb?

Melbourne, city, capital of the state of Victoria, Australia. It is located at the head of Port Phillip Bay, on the southeastern coast. The central city is home to about 136,000 people and is the core of an extensive metropolitan area—the world’s most southerly with a population of more than 1,000,000.

What suburbs are South Melbourne?

South Melbourne suburb boundaries, City of Port Phillip

  • Albert Park suburb boundaries.
  • Balaclava suburb boundaries.
  • Elwood suburb boundaries.
  • Middle Park suburb boundaries.
  • Port Melbourne suburb boundaries.
  • Ripponlea suburb boundaries.
  • St Kilda suburb boundaries.
  • St Kilda East suburb boundaries.
INTERESTING:  How much does it cost to fly to Bali from Melbourne?

What are the suburbs in Victoria?

Popular suburbs and towns in Victoria

  • Melbourne.
  • Richmond.
  • South Melbourne.
  • Port Melbourne.
  • Southbank.
  • South Yarra.
  • St Kilda.
  • Hawthorn.

Where do suburbs live in Melbourne?

The article states that the best suburbs in Melbourne to live for families are:

  • Hawthorn East.
  • Eltham.
  • Hawthorn.
  • Surrey Hills.
  • Canterbury.
  • Templestowe Lower.
  • Bulleen.
  • Glen Iris.

Where do families live in Melbourne?

The Best Family Suburbs in Melbourne

  • Doncaster East. Doncaster East is a corner of Melbourne’s north-east known for its safe, leafy streets, making it the perfect location for families. …
  • Coburg. …
  • Altona. …
  • Roxburgh Park. …
  • Macleod. …
  • Kingsville. …
  • Kew.

What are Melbourne inner suburbs?

These are the suburbs of Inner Melbourne:

  • Carlton, East Melbourne, Jolimont, Flemington, Kensington, Melbourne.
  • Port Melbourne, Fishermans Bend, Parkville, Southbank, South Yarra.
  • West Melbourne, Coode Island, World Trade Centre.

What is the oldest suburb in Melbourne?

Fitzroy was Melbourne’s first suburb, created in 1839 when the area between Melbourne and Alexandra Parade (originally named Newtown) was subdivided into vacant lots and offered for sale.

What is the smallest suburb in Melbourne?

Gardenvale takes the top spot for what is the smallest suburb in metropolitan Melbourne. It is only 26 hectares, but don’t let that fool you. This is one of the most liveable suburbs based on the latest research as it is close to both the coast and the city.

What are the richest suburbs in Melbourne?

Hawthorn East, Albert Park, Glen Iris and Camberwell all jumped into Melbourne’s top 10 most expensive suburbs in the past three months, according to new quarterly sales price data from the Real Estate Institute of Victoria (REIV).

INTERESTING:  How far is Melbourne Airport from Tullamarine?

What suburbs are East Melbourne?

The Eastern suburbs of Melbourne include Boroondara, Box Hill and Glen Waverley, Manningham and Nillumbik, Ringwood and surrounds. Stretching from almost inner suburbs of Kew, Hawthorn and Camberwell in Booroondara to the outer cities like Maroondah and the Dandenong Ranges.

What suburbs are West Melbourne?

The Western suburbs of Melbourne include the areas of Airport West, Caroline Springs, Essendon, Flemington, Footscray, Keilor, Melton, Point Cook, Sunshine, Sydenham, Werribee, Williamstown and Yarraville.

What suburbs are in North Melbourne?

The northern suburbs of Melbourne include Ascot Vale, Broadmeadows, Brunswick, Bundoora, Coburg, Epping, Hume, Ivanhoe, Moonee Ponds, Nillumbik Shire, Northcote, South Morang, and Tullamarine.