What is classed as Central Queensland?

What area is classed as Central Queensland?

Central Queensland covers the seaside cities of Mackay, Gladstone and Rockhampton, travels through the Gemfields and the inland city of Emerald and out to Longreach. It includes the rural towns in the Wide Bay, Coalfields, and remote outback towns reaching to Birdsville, ending at the Queensland border.

What are the 7 regions of Queensland?

Queensland regions

  • Central Queensland.
  • Darling Downs South West.
  • Far North Queensland.
  • Mackay Isaac Whitsunday.
  • North Queensland.
  • North West Queensland.
  • South East Queensland North.
  • South East Queensland South.

Is Mackay North or Central Queensland?

In its news coverage, the national Australian Broadcasting Corporation consistently describes Mackay as being in North Queensland and its local radio station is called ABC Tropical North. More generally, the area is known as the Mackay–Whitsunday Region.

What are the regional areas in Queensland?

Best Regional Areas With Greater Population

Postcode Name Region
4214 Arundel Gold Coast
4214 Ashmore Gold Coast
4883 Atherton Cairns
4670 Avenell Heights Wide Bay

What suburbs are in central Queensland?

Central Queensland

  • Banana.
  • Central Highlands.
  • Gladstone.
  • Isaac.
  • Livingstone.
  • Rockhampton.
  • Woorabinda.
INTERESTING:  Why is Melbourne weather so unpredictable?

Is Queensland considered regional?

Queensland is the second largest Australian state. It has 7 regions and spans 1.7 million square kilometres.

Is Hervey Bay classed as regional?

It consists of the Bundaberg, Fraser Coast, Gympie, North Burnett and South Burnett local government areas. Major centres include Bundaberg, Gympie, Hervey Bay, Kingaroy and Maryborough.

Where is central west Queensland?

Central West Queensland is a remote region in the Australian state of Queensland which covers 396 650.2 km2. The region lies to the north of South West Queensland and south of the Gulf Country. It has a population of approximately 12,387 people.

What is classed as South East Qld?

South East Queensland: Geographic information

  • The South East Queensland region includes Queensland’s major population centres of Brisbane, Ipswich, the Gold Coast, and the Sunshine Coast.
  • The region has an extensive network of water bodies consisting of creeks, rivers, wetlands, lakes, bays and the Pacific Ocean.

What is classified as North Queensland?

“Different Queensland Government agencies use different boundaries to classify north Queensland,” the spokesman said. … “It includes Rockhampton, Mackay, Mount Isa, Townsville, Cairns, Cape York and the Gulf, covering 46 of the 77 Local Governments.

What is considered North Queensland?

Far North Queensland (FNQ) is the northernmost part of the Australian state of Queensland. Its largest city is Cairns and it is dominated geographically by Cape York Peninsula, which stretches north to the Torres Strait, and west to the Gulf Country.

Far North Queensland.

Far North Queensland Queensland
Area 380,748.3 km2 (147,007.7 sq mi)
INTERESTING:  Can we drive with Indian license in Melbourne?

Is Central Coast classed as regional?

“For the purpose of regional travel, we have now classified Central Coast, Shellharbour, [Wollongong], Blue Mountains as Greater Metro,” Deputy Premier John Barilaro said.

Is Gosford considered regional?

Metro Satellites

Metro Satellite FERs include towns such as Gosford, Queanbeyan, Maitland, Kiama, Lithgow and Tweed Heads. Metro Satellites are home to 53 per cent of regional NSW’s population and produce the highest economic output of the five broad categories.