What are the six states of Australia and their capital cities?

How many states in Australia and their capitals?

The following is the list of Australia states and capitals in alphabetical order. Australia is divided into six states, three internal territories and seven external territories.

List of Capital Cities of Australia:

State / Territory New South Wales
Type State
Capital Sydney
Population (2020) 8,157,735

Is Australia divided into 6 states?

Mainland Australia is the world’s largest island but the smallest continent. The country is divided into six states and two territories.

Do Australian states have capital cities?

Australia mainland state/territory capitals are: Brisbane (Queensland), Canberra (Australian Capital Territory), Darwin (Northern Territory), Hobart (Tasmania), Melbourne (Victoria), Perth (Western Australia), and Sydney (New South Wales). Capital city of Australia is Canberra.

What are the six states of Australia?

The Federation of Australia constitutionally consists of six federated states (New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia) and ten federal territories, out of which three are internal territories (the Australian Capital Territory, Jervis Bay Territory, and Northern Territory …

INTERESTING:  Is it easy to get into Melbourne University?

What are the 6 states and 2 territories of Australia observe Daylight Saving Time?

New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, Tasmania and South Australia observe DST every year.

Does Australia have 2 capitals?

Foreigners often debate between Sydney, News South Wales (NSW) and Melbourne, Victoria (VIC) when asked what the capital of Australia is, but the correct answer is actually Canberra, Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

How many cities are in Australia?

Australia has 5 cities with more than a million people, 14 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 375 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people. The largest city in Australia is Sydney, with a population of 4,627,345 people.

Is Vic a state?

Victoria (abbreviated as Vic) is a state in southeastern Australia. … The state is home to four of Australia’s 20 largest cities: Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat and Bendigo.

Is Sydney capital of Australia?

Sydney, city, capital of the state of New South Wales, Australia.

Is NSW a capital city?

Новый Южный Уэльс/Столицы
Искать: Is NSW a capital city?